France Football denies that Messi won the Ballon d’Or

FrancePascal Ferré, editor-in-chief of France Football – the organization that awarded the Ballon d’Or – denied that Lionel Messi was informed in advance of this year’s award.

“It’s nonsense, like what we’ve seen in the last ten days. It’s a hoax,” Ferre told the German newspaper. Bild.

Before that, the Portuguese news agency RTPPT Confirmed Messi has been announced to be the owner of the Golden Ball 2021, even though until November 29 France Football recently announced the winners, at the Chatelet Theater in Paris. Twitter also spread the image of the score result of the Golden Ball 2021 with the leader being Messi.

Messi has six Golden Balls.  Photo: Reuters

Messi has six Golden Balls. Photo: Reuters

Ballon d’Or voting results have been regularly leaked over the years. In 2018, leaked results showed that both Ronaldo and Messi did not make the top 3, while Luka Modric won the award. Ronaldo then finished second, while Messi finished fifth. Two weeks before the 2019 awards ceremony, Messi was revealed to have won the award. The Argentine striker then surpassed Virgil van Dijk and Ronaldo to hold the Golden Ball for the sixth time. Last year, France Football not given, due to Covid-19.

Messi currently leads the list of candidates for the Golden Ball 2021 with odds up to 8/15, ie 15 to 8. Winning the Copa America 2021 with two individual prizes – Best Player and Top Scorer – bet Messi is in a good position to contest the seventh Ballon d’Or in his career. However, the 34-year-old striker failed with Barca in two major arenas, La Liga and Champions League. He also did not catch up well in the PSG shirt, when he did not have a goal in Ligue I.

Second place belongs to Robert Lewandowski with a ratio of 9/2. The Polish striker won the European Golden Shoe 2020-2021 with 41 goals, helping Bayern win the Bundesliga. Following are Jorginho (January 6), N’golo Kante and Kevin De Bruyne (January 12). Cristiano Ronaldo is only sixth with a ratio of 16/1.

The Golden Ball is the highest personal honor in the world of players, awarded by the magazine France Football, for the first time in 1956. The tournament was limited to players with European nationality until 1995, then was extended to players playing in Europe. Since 2007, the new Ballon d’Or expands the range of players voted worldwide.

Messi holds the record of winning six Men’s Ballon d’Or (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015 and 2019), one more than Cristiano Ronaldo (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017). Michel Platini, Johan Cruyff and Marco van Basten were jointly honored three times. The remaining five players who received the award twice are Franz Beckenbauer, Ronaldo Nazario, Alfredo di Stefano, Kevin Keegan and Karl-Heinz Rummenigge.

Hong Duy synthetic

Leave a Comment