Thời sự quốc tế

South Korean president chooses new cabinet

Accordingly, MP Choo Kyung-ho was nominated to be the First Deputy Prime Minister in charge of the economy and concurrently holds the position of Finance Minister. Professor Lee Chang-yang of the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology was nominated to lead the Ministry of Industry, Trade and Energy, while former governor of Jeju Province Won Hee-ryong was selected for the position. Minister of Land, Infrastructure and Transport.

Korean President chooses new cabinet - 1

President-elect Yoon Suk-yeol. (Photo: Xinhua News Agency)

President Yoon Suk-yeol also appointed former Vice Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Lee Jong-sup to hold the position of Defense Minister. Mr. Lee Jong-ho, head of the semiconductor research institute of Seoul National University, has been nominated for the position of Minister of Science and Information Technology. Meanwhile, former director of Kyungpook National University Hospital Jeong Ho-yeong has been selected as the Minister of Health and Welfare.

Mr. Park Bo-kyun – former Vice Chairman of JoongAng Ilbo newspaper, was appointed as Culture Minister and former MP Kim Hyun-sook was highly appreciated for the position of Minister of Family and Gender Equality.

Earlier, on April 3, President Yoon Suk-yeol also nominated former Prime Minister Han Duck-soo to be Prime Minister in the new government. In South Korea, the prime minister is the only cabinet position that requires the approval of the National Assembly.

You are reading the article South Korean president chooses new cabinet
at – Source: – Read the original article here

Back to top button